Got Blisters?

Image

St James…

My friend Kathy has blisters on her feet or so I read in her blog Foote Loose and Fancy Free.

I get blisters too, whenever I go for a five-kilometer or so trek through the forest near my house.  Sadly, that doesn’t happen often. I have to actually convince myself to put on the hiking boots, leash up the dog and begin that seemingly arduous journey.

Some days, it’s just too much.

I’d rather focus on the intellectual me and write. Or read. Or watch back episodes of Suits. Or do anything that doesn’t involve physical effort. Don’t judge me.  I’m cerebral. We all have our strengths.

Kathy, however, is a bit more committed to this whole walking concept, which might explain the state of her feet. She is now on day 20 something of her Camino Frances pilgrimage.

If you aren’t sure what that is all about, you can read learn more here.

Image

My sore-footed friend started walking from Paris, France over five weeks ago and doesn’t plan to stop until she reaches the tomb of St. James in Santiago de Compostela in north-west Spain.

Her blisters win.

A couple months ago, she stopped in to see me at my office before she left to tell me of her upcoming adventure.

“Why?” I asked.

“Why not,” she answered.

Indeed, why not I thought.

Fast forward a few weeks and I find myself religiously following her blog, vicariously walking the roads with her and her very cool patron saint Big Tess.

Her insights and unique photos are telling and anyone with an interest in life as they may not know not it, would certainly enjoy reading about them.

I look forward to her eventual return so I can pry even more details from her.

While I don’t imagine that I will be following in her “foote” steps anytime soon, I am nevertheless inspired by her journey.

She reminds me that we are all capable of so much more than we think we are.

I get the distinct feeling that someone, perhaps my own patron saint of sorts, is tapping me on my shoulder and whispering in my ear. She is telling me to step up my game.

  • Ditch the laziness that comes with complacency.
  • Don’t rest on your laurels. Craft new ones.
  • Be a better professional on the job and most definitely a better person off it.
  • Walk just a few steps further, literally or figuratively, because you can.
  • Leash the poor hound and go for a walk. Blisters won’t kill you.

My new patron saint appears to be a tad bit pushy but she makes her points.

I’ll have to think of a cool name for her other than bitch.

What about you?  Got blisters?

This entry was posted in Setting the Bar Higher. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Got Blisters?

  1. kathyfoote says:

    Why have I not seen this blog earlier??! And I DO remember that conversation. If you asked me the same question today, I might give you the same answer, just slightly more long-winded.
    But if you asked me if it was fun, or was it worth it, or would I do it again, well, NOW we’d have a conversation (short answer: yes, yes, yes).

    • I’m glad you found this blog – and especially this entry since you inspired it. 🙂 This is a new blog (that’s why you haven’t seen it before!) and one I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time… I also started one called Resume Rx: Tips and Tricks from a Resume Whisperer. Why, she asks? Why not, I say. 🙂 Looking forward to your return and hearing some of your stories! Be safe my friend!

Leave a Reply

