Looking Out the Window

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the train ride into Rome from outlying Albano Laziale, I looked out my dirty window and these are some of the things I saw:

  • dandelions growing on the empty train track next to mine
  • Roman ruins juxtaposed against a modern neighborhood
  • Lake Albano near the summer residence of the Pope
  • yellow graffiti by someone named Dino at the Castel Gandolfo stop
  • a wild prickly pear cactus on a hillside
  • the stump of an olive tree
  • an unfinished villa
  • trees with massive umbrella shaped branches, full of green leaves
  • a sign that read: Sassone. Vietato attraversar i binari.  (Don’t cross the tracks)
  • a cat lazily sunning itself in a garden
  • an old man sitting on a bench, looking worried and rubbing his legs as if they hurt to touch
  • an airfield with a white plane sitting on the runway
  • a bevy of colorful scooters parked closely together
  • a horse trotting through a training course
  • sections of ancient Roman aquaducts leading into the city

After an hour of looking out the window, I finally arrived at the main train station. I spent the day visiting amazing sites such as the Vatican, the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My personal favorite, however was Tazza D’Oro where despite having to wait in line for nearly 30 minutes to use the restroom, I experienced the best cup of espresso in the world.  (Get over yourself, Caesar!)

My visit to Rome is now just a good memory.  When I think back to that particular adventure, I don’t immediately think of the famous sites or of the fabulous coffee.

Strangely enough, I remember the train ride from Albano Laziale to Rome. I don’t know why unless it just means that the little details in our lives matter the most.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in The Little Details. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

