Savoring the Moment

SONY DSC

About this time last summer, I stumbled upon a magnificent field of sunflowers at dusk in a farmer’s field near my house. I had driven past this particular field hundreds of times before but this was the first time I had ever seen any flowers in it, much less a full landscape of picture perfect petals.

It was quite a treat for me and for my camera as I snapped shot after shot in the late afternoon sun.

 SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The other day, I made it a point to visit that same farmer’s field, camera in hand, sun shining brightly. When I got there, I found an empty field with nothing growing it in at all, unless you count dirt.

Maybe the farmer already harvested the statuesque blooms for this year.

Maybe he didn’t even plant them at all.

I was disappointed.

A quieter part of me, however, was grateful that I had at least experienced them the year before.

It can be like that on the job for us at times, too.

Things just don’t always go the way we want them to, no matter how lucky we are or how meticulously we plan.

There are times when we just have to savor the moment given to us.

SONY DSC

Aside | This entry was posted in Jobs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Savoring the Moment

  1. kathyfoote says:

    Nice use of graphics to enhance your point. Short, sweet, and to the point.

Leave a Reply

